Topic

PvP situation discussion

Naturaljob @ Kirin Tor
Naturaljob

1 Gnome Rogue
Edited by Naturaljob on 2018-05-12 03:35:36
So, I've been playing since 2015 here and I believe this server is really good.
PvE side almost everything is overall well fixed and working as intended, but that's not what I'd like to talk about here.

What I'd like to discuss is the actual PvP scene in this server.
First of all, the maximum distance you can see players/buldings/veichles at: this was a supposed fix for the servers' stability implemented few years ago, but right now it's totally breaking Wintergrasp, as when mounted on a tower cannon you can barely see anyone to shoot at. Also it doens't help in big maps battlegrounds like Arathi Basin where you can't see properly who's in any other given base if you are defending/attacking a base. (also LoS problems in WG when walls are destroyed, but it's minor)

It's also a shame Strand of the Ancients is not in the random bg rotation despite being fixed few times recently, and AV/IoC not put in rotation during weekends, when you can often find 20+ people per side actively join PvP. This basically leaves us with 3 out of 6 bgs actually playable, and can get boring really fast unfortunately... Also specific bg queue is kinda of bugged, so that only if every single player queued for that specific bg the queue will pop, which basically makes the A Call to Arms dungeon useless...

Last but not least: I've noticed that right now the arena scene is pretty much dead.
Basically only 2v2 is playable and sometimes you have to wait hours to have a single game. if you get to play more than once, it's probably the same team over and over. Also 2 arenas are still not available since 2014...

The increased experience in BGs before lvl80 is definitely improving the PvP playerbase, along with the recent free transfers Wintergrasp is also well balanced in terms of people joining per side (not everytime, but still a good experience).